Dictionary fun

A short, chatty, senseless post:

Since a couple of days ago I now enjoy having a decent, up-to-date Persian-Persian dictionary. I’ve just bought فرهنگ سخن and frankly speaking I am quite amazed by my stupidity in assuming previously that nothing has changed on the Iranian dictionary market since 2000 and that I have to rely forever on the good but outdated Dehkhoda.

Second point is I have found out about Nairi, an Armenian publishing house located in Persian. A couple of years ago they had published a trilingual English – Armenian – Persian dictionary, which I am considering to buy.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • eskandarj  On September 24, 2010 at 9:05 am

    I will have to check both of those out when I return to Iran next summer; I really need to stop using Persian-English dictionaries, which are probably holding me back, and switch to Persian-Persian. The main problem is that I’m incredibly lazy… That English-Armenian-Persian dictionary sounds great, any idea how much it costs? They don’t seem to have prices on the website.

    By the way, I have been reading all of your posts, even the Polish ones (which are somewhat readable for me through Google Translate) but usually just don’t have anything to say!

    • peterlin  On September 24, 2010 at 2:56 pm

      The trilingual dictionary costs around 20$, I haven’t seen their Persian-Armenian ones (which I would really prefer) yet. 8-volume Soxan is 120$ and the 2-volume edition some 35$. Another interesting dictionary I forgot to mention is Hazhar Kurdish-to-Kurdish and Persian.

      Thanks for reading the blog – I figured out that I must be getting more than half of all my hits from my friends :). I am checking browfolks2 quite often and I wait for brownfolks’ re-activattion.

Leave a Reply

